Robert E. Meeks MSBA Student School Board Member Scholarship

Do you have a senior high school student serving on your school board as a student representative? If so, please encourage them to apply for the Robert E. Meeks MSBA Student School Board Member Scholarship. Each spring, MSBA will award $3,000 scholarships to two Minnesota students.

Applications for the 2023 scholarship are now available. Please download the application below.

To qualify for the 2023 scholarship: 

1. The student’s school board must be a member of MSBA.

2. The student must be a high school senior graduating after the spring 2023 semester.

3. The student’s service as a school board member must be during his/her senior year.

4. The student will be a full-time postsecondary student in fall 2023.

Guidelines for adding student representatives to your school board: If you are considering adding a student representative to your school board, click here to access some guidelines.

Scholarship Application

Applications are now available for the 2023 MSBA Student School Board Member Scholarship!

APPLICATION: Please click here to download the scholarship application.

Application methods:

  • By mail — MSBA Student School Board Scholarship, 1900 West Jefferson Avenue, St. Peter, MN 56082-3015 (mailed entries must be postmarked by Saturday, March 11, 2023).
  • By email — Send all application materials in a PDF format to Greg Abbott at by noon Monday, March 13, 2023.

If you have any questions about the MSBA Student School Board Member Scholarship, email Greg Abbott at

Scholarship Recipients

2022: Megan Lindow (Nevis High School) and Daniela Ortiz (Owatonna High School)

2021: Morgan Hoong (Fairmont High School) and Baleigh Peterson (Gibbon Fairfax Winthrop High School)

2020: Lucy Browning (Chaska High School) and Adam Koller (Worthington High School)

2019: Deon Estebo (Redwood High School) and Andrew Kroll (Pine Island High School)

2018: Ashley Rensted (White Bear Lake Area High School) and Zachary Riffle (Mounds Westonka High School)

2017: Nathan Hagerott (Caledonia High School) and London Lowmanstone (Hopkins High School)

2016: McKinley Lain (Sauk Rapids-Rice High School) and Taylor Nelson (Woodbury High School)

2015: Amber Bennett (Proctor High School) and Giancarlo Marconi (Austin High School)

2014: Tim Bergeland (Hopkins High School) and Erik Thibault (Duluth East High School)

2013: Stephanie Chavez-Estrada (Richfield High School) and Molly Sandstrom (Chisago Lakes High School)

2012: Michael Gaytko (Waseca High School) and Heather Rolfing (Lewiston-Altura High School)

2011: Marguerite Haggerty (Cannon Falls High School) and Maraki Ketema (White Bear Lake Area High School)

2010: Kai Fei (Duluth East High School) and Tanwaporn Ohl (Cass Lake-Bena High School)

2009: Ethan Lang (Hopkins High School) and Kendra Lynn (Cambridge-Isanti High School)

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart