New Minnesota House of Representatives committee structure unveiled

New Minnesota House of Representatives committee structure unveiled


Source: Session Daily

House Republican leadership announced the chairs and committee structure for the 89th legislative biennium scheduled to convene Jan. 6, 2015.

Rep. Jenifer Loon (R-Eden Prairie) will be the chair of the House Education Finance Committee. Rep. Sondra Erickson (R-Princeton) will be the chair of the House Education Innovation Policy Committee.

Please see complete list of committees and chairs below.

“Our committee structure reflects our priorities: growing good-paying jobs, protecting our seniors’ quality of life, giving our students a world-class education and prioritizing roads and bridges,” House Speaker-designate Kurt Daudt (R-Crown) said in a statement.

The recommendation of 26 committees and divisions is fewer than the 30 groups during the last biennium when the DFL held the House majority. Meeting times and locations have yet to be announced.

Committees act as filters, deciding which of the thousands of bills in the two-year biennium get heard, approved and then moved through the process.

Traditionally, committee membership is named by mid-December.

Under House Rules, 30 days before a new session convenes, the speaker-designate submits to the leader of the minority caucus the committee structure, along with the number of minority caucus members to be appointed to each committee. The minority caucus members make their assignment requests through the minority leader, who submits the names to the speaker-designate at least 15 days before convening a new session. However, again according to House Rules, “a committee of the House must not have exclusive membership from one profession, occupation or vocation.”

While members can express their committee preference, the decision of who serves where is left to the speaker.

Once session begins, the House website will be updated with information, including membership, staff, schedules, agendas, minutes and access to audio and/or video coverage of the meetings.

2015-16 Committee Name (Chair)

Aging & Long-Term Care Policy (Rep. Schomacker)

Agriculture Finance (Rep. Hamilton)    

Agriculture Policy  (Rep. Anderson, P.)    

Capital Investment (Rep. Torkelson)  

Civil Law & Data Practices  (Rep. Scott)

Commerce & Regulatory Reform (Rep. Hoppe)

Education Finance (Rep. Loon)          

Education Innovation Policy  (Rep. Erickson)        

Environment & Natural Resources Policy & Finance (Rep. McNamara)  

Government Operations & Elections Policy (Rep. Sanders)    

Greater Minnesota Economic & Workforce Development Policy (Rep. Gunther)      

HHS Finance (Rep. Dean)    

HHS Reform (Rep. Mack)      

Higher Education Policy & Finance (Rep. Nornes)            

Job Growth & Energy Affordability Policy & Finance (Rep. Garofalo)        

Legacy Funding Finance (Rep. Urdahl)          

Mining & Outdoor Recreation Policy (Rep. Hackbarth)    

Property Tax & Local Government Finance Division (Taxes)  (Rep. Drazkowski)        

Public Safety and Crime Prevention Policy & Finance (Rep. Cornish)                      

Rules & Legislative Administration (Rep. Peppin)

State Government Finance (Rep. Anderson, S.)              

Taxes (Rep. Davids)                      

Transportation Policy & Finance (Rep. Kelly)            

Veterans Affairs Division (SGF) (Rep. Dettmer)        

Ways & Means (Rep. Knoblach)        

Ethics (Rep. Erickson)                     

Share this post

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart